Encyclopedia and sports reference site, we share sports news and information on a daily basis. Quality articles, guides and questions-answers.

Can a goalie win the Hart Trophy?


By contrast, it is rare for a goaltender to win the award, which has happened only eight times in its history by 7 different goaltenders; Buffalo Sabres goaltender Dominik Hasek is the only two-time winner. … Three finalists are named and the trophy is awarded at the NHL Awards ceremony after the playoffs.

Also to know is Which player has won the most Stanley Cups?

Players with most Stanley Cup rings

Rank Player Seasons
1 Henri Richard* 11
2 Jean Béliveau* 10
Yvan Cournoyer* 10

Considering this, Who was the last goalie to win the Hart?

Why? There have been only seven goaltenders in league history who have won the Hart Trophy. The last was Montreal’s Carey Price in 2015, preceded by Jose Theodore in 2002, Dominik Hasek in 1997 and 1998, Jacques Plante in 1962, Al Rollins in 1954, Charlie Rayner in 1950 and Roy Worters in 1929.

Keeping this in consideration When was the last time a goalie won the Hart Trophy? Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price has been rewarded handsomely for his spectacular 2014-15 campaign, becoming just the fourth player in NHL history to win the Hart Memorial (MVP) and Vezina (best goalie) trophies in the same season, per Sportsnet Stats.

Who was the last New York Rangers to win the Hart Trophy?

Individual awards

Award Description Winner
Hart Memorial Trophy Most valuable player to his team during the regular season Chuck Rayner
Andy Bathgate
Mark Messier
James Norris Memorial Trophy Top defenseman during the regular season Doug Harvey

Table of Contents

Has any player won 3 Stanley Cups in a row?

Being a Stanley Cup champ three years in a row is pretty special. … Maroon is one of just nine active players to have won three Stanley Cups; no active player has won more. The other eight: Sidney Crosby, Marc-Andre Fleury, Niklas Hjalmarsson, Patrick Kane, Duncan Keith, Kris Letang, Evgeni Malkin and Jonathan Toews.

Who has never won the Stanley Cup?

Stanley Cup droughts

Team Last Stanley Cup Stanley Cup drought
Buffalo Sabres never (inception of franchise in 1970–71) 50 seasons
Vancouver Canucks never (inception of franchise in 1970–71) 50 seasons
Philadelphia Flyers 1974–75 45 seasons
Arizona Coyotes never (franchise entered the NHL in 1979–80) 41 seasons 1

Has an NHL team ever went 16 0 in the playoffs?

No one has ever gone 16–0 in the playoffs. There have been a few 8–0 back when the cup was decided in 2 rounds. Also a 12–1 when they moved to three rounds. The best team in recent history is the kings in 11–12 going 16–4 and the record for best playoffs is 16–2 by the 87–88 oilers.

How many devils have been awarded the Hart Memorial Trophy?

They have captured the Prince of Wales Trophy as the Eastern Conference playoff champion five times, while they have also won Stanley Cup three times, in 1995, 2000 and 2003.

List of New Jersey Devils award winners.

Also read  How long can you fight in hockey?
New Jersey Devils awards
Calder Memorial Trophy 2
Conn Smythe Trophy 2
Frank J. Selke Trophy 1
Hart Memorial Trophy 1

What team has the most Hart Trophies?

Team-wise, the Montreal Canadiens have the most Hart Memorial Trophy winners, with a whopping 16. The next most successful team: Boston Bruins, with 12 Hart Trophy wins.

How many times did Gretzky win the Stanley Cup?

Wayne Gretzky won 4 Stanley Cups. He won each of those Stanley cups with the Edmonton Oilers in 1983-84, 1984-85, 1986-87, and 1987-88. As well, in two of those trips he won the Conn Smythe trophy as the Most Valuable Player.

Who has the most Rocket Richard trophies?

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy
First award 1998–99 NHL season
Most wins Alexander Ovechkin (9)
Most recent Auston Matthews Toronto Maple Leafs

Who broke the Stanley Cup?

After breaking our hearts (and the cap), Tampa broke the Stanley Cup Back to video. At day’s end, back on dry land, the Cup was photographed looking quite banged up. Half the bowl at its summit had been flattened.

Who has won the most Stanley Cups with different teams?

Jack Marshall owns the record for playing with four different teams to win the Stanley Cup.

Who is the greatest hockey team of all time?

Top 10 Greatest NHL Teams

  • 1984-85 Edmonton Oilers.
  • 1991-92 Pittsburgh Penguins.
  • 1976-77 Montreal Canadiens.
  • 1987-88 Edmonton Oilers.
  • 1986-87 Edmonton Oilers.
  • 1997-98 Detroit Red Wings.
  • 1982-83 New York Islanders.
  • 1977-78 Montreal Canadiens.

Has any team won back to back Stanley Cups?

The Lightning are the first team to go back-to-back since the Penguins in 2016 and 2017. The Tampa Bay Lightning defeated the Montreal Canadiens 1-0 in Game 5 to win their second consecutive Stanley Cup.

What is the longest Stanley Cup winning streak?

Stanley Cup win streaks

Also read  Who was the last goalie to win the Hart?
Team Stanley Cup win streak Consecutive Stanley Cup wins
Montreal Canadiens 5 seasons 1955 –56 through to 1959–60
4 seasons 1975–76 through to 1978–79
New York Islanders 4 seasons 1979–80 through to 1982–83
Toronto Maple Leafs 3 seasons 1946–47 through to 1948–49

Has there ever been a clean sweep in Stanley Cup?

This was the fourth consecutive Stanley Cup Finals that concluded with a sweep, as well as the last time it has ever happened.

1998 Stanley Cup Finals
Location(s) Detroit: Joe Louis Arena (1, 2) Washington: MCI Center (3, 4)
Coaches Detroit: Scotty Bowman Washington: Ron Wilson

Has any team been swept in Stanley Cup?

There has not been a sweep in the Stanley Cup Final since 1998. The Canadiens – who have a record 24 Stanley Cup wins – were last swept in the playoffs in 2009.

Who will win the Hart Trophy this year?

Who will win the 2021 NHL Hart Memorial Trophy? Given to the league’s most valuable player, the Hart Trophy will be decided between Toronto Maple Leafs’ Auston Matthews, Edmonton Oilers’ Connor McDavid and Colorado Avalanche’s Nathan MacKinnon.

What years did the Devils win the Stanley Cup?

The Devils play in the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference in the National Hockey League (NHL). The franchise found little success until the 1990s, when it established itself as one of the NHL’s most dominant teams, winning Stanley Cup titles in 1995, 2000, and 2003.

What teams did Gretzky win the cup with?

As centre and team captain, Gretzky led the Oilers to four Stanley Cup victories (in the 1983–84, 1984–85, 1986–87, and 1987–88 seasons). Following the 1987–88 season, he was traded to the Los Angeles Kings.

Who won the Art Ross in 1995?


Season Winner Win #
1993–94 Wayne Gretzky 10
1994–95 Jaromir Jagr 1
1995–96 Mario Lemieux 5
1996–97 Mario Lemieux 6

Add Comment

Encyclopedia and sports reference site, we share sports news and information on a daily basis. Quality articles, guides and questions-answers.
Sport-Net The question and answer site designed to help people, to help each other: To ask, to learn, to share, to grow.